State of Emergency Declared in New York - Telephone Sales Calls Prohibited

On Saturday, outgoing New York Governor Andrew Cuomo declared a disaster for 25 counties within the state due to the expected landfall of Tropical Storm Henri. Because the disaster declaration invokes Section 28 of the state’s Executive Law, it automatically triggers a ban on telemarketing to residents of those 25 counties—Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Suffolk, Westchester, Putnam, Rockland, Orange, Dutchess, Sullivan, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Broome, Chenango, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schoharie, Albany, Montgomery, Schenectady, and Saratoga—thanks to a provision of the Nuisance Call Act, passed in 2019.


Tuesday, August 24, 2021

« Back